Parish Jubilees 2008

The Society congratulates the following parishes on achieving significant milestones.

150 years (established 1858)

Broadway NSW, St Benedict's parish est.
Liverpool NSW, All Saints parish est.
Newcastle NSW, parish est. - now under 1997 Newcastle NSW.
Wollongong NSW, St Francis Xavier's Cathedral parish est.
Yass NSW, St Augustine's parish est.
Launceston Tas, parish est. - now under 2001 Launceston Tas.

100 years (established 1908)

Terang Vic, St Thomas' parish est.
Bellingen NSW, St Mary Immaculate parish est.
Dulwich Hill NSW, Imm. Conception & St Paul of the Cross parish est.
Haberfield NSW, St Joan of Arc parish est.
Kalumburu WA, Our Lady of Assumption parish est.
Moama NSW, St Aloysius' parish est.
Moora WA, St John the Baptist parish est.
Narrandera NSW, St Mel's parish est.

50 years (established 1956)

Barossa Valley SA, Our Lady of the Valley parish est.
Glen Osmond/Parkside SA, St Paul of the Cross parish est.
Timboon Vic, St Joseph's parish est.
Cheltenham Vic, Our Lady of the Assumption parish est.
Claremont Tas, St Bernard's parish est.
Eltham Vic, Our Lady Help of Christians parish est.
Gymea NSW, St Catherine Laboure parish est.
Hampton East Vic, Immaculate Heart of Mary parish est.
Hervey Bay Qld, St Joseph's parish est.
Ivanhoe East Vic, Mother of God parish est.
Mount Lawley WA, St Paul's parish est.
Mt Waverley Vic, Holy Family parish est.
Nollamara WA, Our Lady of Lourdes parish est.
Wangaratta South Vic, Our Lady Mother of God parish est.
Wilson WA, Our Lady of Perpetual Help parish est.

Please inform the Editor if there are any mistakes or omissions to this list, which is taken from the Official Directory of the Catholic Church in Australia. You may also wish to send us accounts of your celebrations – for our archives and possible publication.

Other jubilees of significance to Australian Catholic history include:

1857: Institute of the Sisters of the Good Samaritan of the Order of St Benedict founded.
1857: St Vincent�s Hospital Sydney founded
1857: Academy of Mary Immaculate, Fitzroy, founded by Sisters of Mercy

Monastery of New Norcia WA, 1850's