1841 to 1900

1841Caroline Chisholm granted barracks for her Female Immigrants’ Home
1842Polding named Archbishop of Sydney
1843Christian Brothers arrive in Sydney (leave in 1847);
3 Italian and one Swiss priest begin mission to Aborigines on Stradbroke Is;
Orange Lodge formed in Victoria to “resist … the lawless conduct of the Popish mob”.
1844Robert Willson arrives as first Catholic bishop of Hobart;
Roman Catholic Orphan School opened at Parramatta with the transfer of 113 orphans from Waverley.
1845Bishop Brady consecrated as first bishop of Perth.
1846Dom Rosendo Salvado founds the New Norcia mission (later abbey); Fr Angelo Confalonieri arrives in Port Essington as the first missionary in Northern Australia
1848Sr Scholastica Gibbons founds House of the Good Shepherd women’s home; Benedictine nuns arrive in Sydney;
two Austrian Jesuits arrive in South Australia;
James Goold arrives in Melbourne as first bishop.
1849St Peter Chanel‘s remains arrive in Sydney on their way back to France after his martyrdom in Futuna.
1850Freeman’s Journal begun by McEncroe;
Convicts sent to Western Australia; Caroline Chisholm’s first chartered emigrant ship leaves London.
1851Victoria proclaimed a separate colony Gold rushes begin.
1853Transportation ends in Van Diemen’s Land (renamed Tasmania)
death of aboriginal seminarian Conaci in Rome.
1854First Australian conference of St Vincent de Paul Society and orphanage established in Melbourne.
1857St Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney established by Sisters of Charity;
Sisters of the Good Samaritan founded in Sydney;
John O’Shanassy becomes Premier of Victoria;
St John’s College, University of Sydney, established by Act of Parliament.
1859Queensland proclaimed a colony and James Quinn appointed first Bishop of Brisbane;
Rome decides to send Irish bishops to Australia;
St Mary’s Cathedral burns down;
Sr Baptist de Lacy, Rectress of St Vincent’s Hospital, returns to Ireland after controversy over the provision of Protestant bibles to Protestant patients.
1860Bishop Geoghegan begins Catholic schools in South Australia.
1861Mercy Sisters under Mother Vincent Whitty arrive in Queensland.
1865St Mary’s Cathedral burns down again; publication of Tenison Woods’ History of the Discovery and Exploration of Australia.
1866Mary MacKillop and Julian Tenison Woods begin the Sisters of St Joseph.
1868Shooting of Prince Alfred, Duke of Edinburgh at Clontarf by Irishman O’Farrell leads to anti-Irish feeling; Parkes’ Kiama speech blames a Fenian conspiracy;
Christian Brothers return to Melbourne.
Blessed Mary MacKillop 1870s
Blessed Mary MacKillop, 1870s.
1870Josephite sisters report Fr Keating of Kapunda for sexual abuse of children.
1871Mary MacKillop excommunicated.
1872State aid to Church schools abolished in Victoria;
MacKillop’s excommunication revoked.
1873Roger Vaughan appointed coadjutor bishop to Sydney.
1875State Aid to church schools withdrawn in Qld.
1877Death of Polding; Roger Vaughan becomes Archbishop of Sydney.
1878Opening of Xavier College, Kew.
1879Vaughan’s Joint Pastoral condemns public schools as “seedplots of future immorality, infidelity and lawlessness.”
1880Public Instruction Act (NSW) removes state aid for church schools;
Ned Kelly given the last sacraments before execution;
foundation of St Ignatius’ College Riverview.
1881Foundation of St Joseph’s College, Hunters Hill
1884Cardinal Moran arrives in Sydney as Archbishop.
1885First Plenary Council of Australian bishops.
1886Thomas Carr appointed Archbishop of Melbourne;
Patrick Jennings the first Catholic premier of NSW.
1887Rome declares central government for Sisters of St Joseph.
1889St Patrick’s Seminary Manly opened.
1890Mary MacKillop’s brother Donald McKillop appointed Superior of the Jesuit mission in the Northern Territory.
1891First Melkite priest to Australia.
1892Trappist Fathers establish Beagle Bay School in the Kimberley.
1893Sisters of Charity found St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne
1895Cardinal Moran’s History of the Catholic Church n Australasia published (1003 pages).
1899Boer War; priests as chaplains;
Jesuit mission in Northern Territory closed after disastrous floods.
1900Sectarian bitterness over naming as co-respondent in divorce case of Fr Denis O’Haran, Moran’s private secretary; jury finds for O’Haran in 1901.