To 1840

40,000BCYears of Aboriginal residence.
1606Quiros searches for Terra Australis and names part of Vanuatu ‘La Australia del Espiritu Santo’.
1788Jan 23 First Fleet enters Sydney Cove; Jan 25 La Perouse enters Botany Bay; Abbé Mones, his chaplain, celebrates the first Mass within Australian territory; death and burial of Fr Receveur;
3 Feb 1788 First Anglican service.
1792Catholic settlers at Parramatta petition Governor Phillip for a chaplain.
1800Fr James Harold & Fr James Dixon arrive as convicts.
1801Third convict priest, Fr Peter O’Neil, arrives and is sent to Norfolk Island
1803Governor King proclaims toleration of Catholics; Dixon says first public Mass.
1804March 4 Castle Hill rebellion of Irish convicts. Dixon’s permit withdrawn.
1817Aug 3 Fr Jeremiah O’Flynn arrives – without government credentials.
1818O’Flynn arrested and deported.
1820Fr Philip Conolly and Fr John Therry arrive as official chaplains.
1821Conolly moves to Van Diemen’s Land, Therry left in charge in NSW; First Catholic school at Parramatta.
Oct 29 Governor Macquarie lays foundation stone for St Mary’s Church, on site of later cathedral.
1826Dec. 25 Fr Daniel Power as chaplain; Therry moves to Parramatta.
1828First census of NSW shows 69% of the white population Protestant and 30% Catholic.
1829WA settlement begins.
St Mary's Chapel and Precincts, Sydney, in the 1830s.
St Mary’s Chapel and Precincts, Sydney, in the 1830s.
1830Catholic Emancipation Act promulgated for NSW.
1831Fr CV Dowling OP arrives as chaplain.
1832Fr John McEncroe arrives, and Attorney-General John Plunkett.
1833Feb 18 Dr W B Ullathorne arrives in Sydney as Vicar-General;
NSW Legislative Council makes grants for the appointment of four new chaplains, the completion of three unfinished churches, and £800 a year for schools and schoolteachers.
1834John Bede Polding created bishop and appointed vicar-apostolic of New Holland and Van Diemen’s Land
1835Polding arrives in Sydney as bishop; first resident clergy appointed to districts.
1836Governor Bourke’s Church Act provides government funds for all major churches; John Baptist Pompallier consecrated bishop for missions in Oceania; South Australia first settlers;
Financing secured for Catholic orphanage;
foundation of St Patrick’s Church, Parramatta,
1837Ullathorne’s pamphlet The Catholic Mission in Australasia published in London and attracts Catholic support for mission.
1838Pompallier takes up residence in Auckland; first Marist priests at Woolloomooloo; St Mary’s Seminary opened at Bishop’s House;
Fr Goold osa, Fr John Brady, Caroline Chisholm, Sisters of Charity arrive in Sydney;
NSW Attorney-General John Plunkett achieves the conviction of seven perpetrators of the Myall Creek Massacre.
1839Catholic newspaper Australasian Chronicle founded.
1840End of Transportation to NSW.