Timeline of Australian Catholic History

The ACHS Timeline highlights key events in Australian Catholic history. It is divided into three eras: To 1840, which sees the transition from indigenous to colonial Australia and the foundation of Catholicism here; the era 1841 – 1900, when gold rushes and pastoral development brought a burgeoning Catholic population; and the period from Federation, 1901-2010, with milestones such as the 1928 Eucharistic Congress, the first visit of a Pope to Australia, and the canonisation of Mary MacKillop.

We would like to expand and extend this time-line so that it becomes a useful source of reference for Australian Catholic history. If you would like to suggest further items (or corrections) for the Timeline, please email them to or address them to;

ACHS Website Monitor
PO Box A621
Sydney South, NSW, 1235

St Marys Roman Catholic Church, Warwick, Qld.
St Mary’s Catholic Church. Warwick, Qld.